Back In The Saddle Again.

It is amazing what a few days of wallowing can do for the spirit. I feel better. It is also amazing what nourishing meals can do as well. This morning I woke up wide awake at 4AM. I had a Whole30 friendly dinner the night before and was in bed by 11. When I woke up I was all “oh hell naww” and tried to go back to sleep. Maybe next time I will start the day that early?

Anyway, I cooked three dinners this week and I would love to share the details with you all. Let’s do this.

On Monday I made Melissa Joulwan’s Chocolate Chili. This was the second time I made her chili and it is outstanding. Seriously, buy her cookbook. I love it so much that halfway through reading I just stopped dog-earring all the pages I wanted to flip back to because I know at some point I will try every single recipe in her book. I am such a geeked out superfan that I post on her Facebook when I make one of her recipes and she ALWAYS comments back to me. That is a true celebrity chef.

Back to my chili which I forgot to snap a picture of. I used two pounds of grass-fed beef. I never drain the fat when I use the good stuff. Fat from grass-fed cows is full of goodies. It is liquid sunshine. Safeway was having a killer sale on meat so I snatched up four pounds of ground beef. More chili in the near future!

On Tuesday I fried up teeny tiny lamb loins that I marinated in garlic and oil. I got a bit overzealous with the heirloom tomatoes when we went grocery shopping and ended up buying two pounds (4.99 a pound!!! Next time, pay attention Kerry) of ugly tomatoes. I turned them into a quick salad with oil and balsamic. I felt like dinner needed something green so I sauteed some baby spinach and dinner was served. Aside from the fancy tomatoes dinner was cheap! I got four tiny lamb loins for under $7.00 and they were delicious.

Pretend there is a chopped parsley garnish, ok?

Pretend there is a chopped parsley garnish, ok?

Last night I turned $3.00 of thinly sliced beef into mounds of fajita stuffs. I sauteed two orange peppers with two big Vidalia onions and garlic. Earlier in the day since I was off from work I sliced the beef and rubbed it up and down (woah) with cumin, chili, garlic, onion, and salt and let it hang out in the fridge for a few hours. It cooked up quick right alongside the vegetables when they were finished. Jer rolled his with flour tortillas but I ate mine straight up.

Pretend THIS has a big fat dollop of guacamole on top, okay?

Pretend THIS has a big fat dollop of guacamole on top, ok?

It seems like I am on somewhat of a budget, right? I need to be. Our last trip to Safeway ran close to $200 but I am fairly certain I bought enough to last us two weeks.

To be precise, I am hoping we can eek by until August 1st because that is the day I have decided to do another Whole30. This time, my Prince of a Husband is joining me in solidarity. I am so excited. Jer is… working on being excited. He asked me with childlike wide eyes if he could order Five Guys without the bun. What do I say to that?

“Things are gonna change, I can feel it.” That is for a special friend who will recognize it immediately.

Love and love and love to you all.

2 thoughts on “Back In The Saddle Again.

  1. You seriously just made my day! I’m sitting here editing Well Fed 2, and I’m pretty sure my eyeballs are bleeding. I’m so glad that you like Well Fed (the original), and the Chocolate Chili. Thank you for your sweet words and the shout out!

Leave a Reply

